Cutting Fabric for Modern Trees

After posting about how I was going to make a Modern Trees quilt by joining Christa’s Christmas Quilt Along over at Christa Quilts yesterday, I was excited to jump into cutting up the fabric I’d bought.

I know Christa was planning to make her Modern Trees quilt with solids but I really want to use some prints.  Maybe it is that I’m still new to quilting but I just love the fun patterns and designs you can find in prints.  So I decided to compromise and went with relatively small patterned prints that appear at least mostly solid.  And I did go with solid brown for the trunks!

DSC_1422

I also went ahead and bought all of my fabric for the backing, binding, and the border around my X-mas lights.  (Jo-Ann Fabric was having a good sale!)  I’m using the red and green plaid as backing, the red stripes for the border, and the red and green stripes for binding.

DSC_1426

I’m using Kona Snow for the background and bought some solid fat quarters for making my string of X-mas light border.

DSC_1427

Following Christa’s guide, I started cutting out my triangles for my trees.  As I only had 6 colors, I had to choose three of them to get 3 triangles and three of them for just 2 triangles to get my total of 15.  I tried to balance this with one dark fabric, one medium fabric, and one light fabric falling into each group.

DSC_1429

I also cut my white strips for both the tree background tops and for the strip piecing of the trunks (although I didn’t get to cutting my brown trunk fabric yet).

DSC_1430

While I think everything is looking good so far, I’m definitely going to have to allow more time than the quilt along recommends.  Christa had indicated that what I did last night took her about 45 minutes and let’s suffice it to say that it took me a little longer.  We’ll blame it on trying to catch up on my DVRed TV shows at the same time.  I was distracted!

Have you ever made a quilt with just solids?  Or are you too drawn to prints to totally give them up?

1 thought on “Cutting Fabric for Modern Trees

Leave a comment