Stash Bee 2015 – February Was My Month As Queen!

February was my month to be Queen Bee for Stash Bee so I had an extra busy January making both Lynn’s blocks as well as my example blocks so I could put together my tutorial post for the Hive.

As I mentioned before, pregnancy fatigue and general baby preparations have been stealing my sewing time so I figured my Stash Bee Hive could help me make blocks for a quilt that would coordinate with our little girl’s nursery.

Pregnancy Photo

Below is the color scheme we chose for the nursery.  I wanted something that was definitely girly but wasn’t just pink everywhere.  I also took some photos of my fabric pull to hopefully give my fellow hive members a good feel for the look I was going for.

Nursery Colors

Fabric Pull - Yellow Gold Fabric Pull - Teal

Fabric Pull - Melon

Here is my block choice for this month – colorful string blocks with a 1/2″ (finished) solid white stripe down the middle!

February Example Blocks

This block is made using a tutorial for Paper Pieced String Quilt Blocks that was put together by Film in the Fridge.  I found the tutorial really easy to follow and have loved seeing my blocks start to arrive at my house.  I can’t wait to put them all together!

7 thoughts on “Stash Bee 2015 – February Was My Month As Queen!

  1. I saw all the blocks as they got posted on the Stash Bee site and they looked awesome! Can’t wait to see your finished quilt!

Leave a comment