Round Trip Quilts – Round One

I’m so excited about how the first round of our Round Trip Quilts travelling bee went!  For the first round, I had the pleasure of working on Christina’s quilt.  Christina blogs over at Wips & Tuts and she asked for a fall/autumn themed quilt.  Here’s the center she sent me to start with:

Round Trip Quilts 1

She also sent a cute little fox but I forgot to take a picture of him!

My mind immediately went to the beautiful fall colors at Brown County State Park since Christina is from my home state of Indiana where I was born and raised.  But then I thought maybe I should look more at fall in my new home state of Georgia.  And here in Georgia, we love to go apple picking in the fall.

Round Trip Quilts 2

I have always loved apples (they were always a favorite snack as a kid) so I love getting to go up to North Georgia every fall and pick apples.  And we’re always eating everything while we pick too!

Round Trip Quilts 3

So I decided that Christina’s quilt needed a border of apple blocks!

Round Trip Quilts 4

I am in love with how this turned out and it actually makes me want to make a fall themed and colored quilt for myself!  Let’s go ahead and add one more thing to the ever growing list of quilts I want to make!

Round Trip Quilts 5

I think the apple cores in the corners are my favorite part.  They are my husband’s favorite too!

Round Trip Quilts 6

Christina is having each of us make these little signature blocks for her quilt too.  Look how tiny it is compared to my rotary cutter!

Round Trip Quilts 7

I hope Christina likes how her quilt is taking shape so far and I can’t wait to work on Chelsea’s quilt for round 2!

10 thoughts on “Round Trip Quilts – Round One

  1. I love the apple and apple core blocks you made! I’ve never experimented with paper piecing yet, but these are making me want to start soon. ☺️ I love what you’ve done with her quilt. I know she will be pleased too. I’m so glad I found your blog. Am enjoying this round robin challenge you are all doing. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Rae (nrhaller@aol.com)

  2. All this blocks are great. I especially like the eaten apple core block! I wanted to Thank You for stopping by and linking up with “Anything Goes Monday”. I am enjoying be a guest host and meeting so many new quilty friends. I signed up via email to receive your posts and look forward to see additional post that you make.

  3. you already know i love it! i am a teacher too, so the apple theme fits perfectly with that as well. thank you so much for the addition to my quilt. can’t wait to get yours! and if you are serious about starting your own fall themed quilt sometime, let me know and i will be glad to help/send some things your way 🙂 muah!

  4. Pingback: Round Trip Quilts, Stop #2 - QA Creations | QA Creations

Leave a Reply

