Stash Bee 2014 – September Blocks

After I finished catching up on my August blocks for Stash Bee, I went ahead and made my September blocks as well.  I was not going to be late again!

Our Queen Bee for September is Ashleigh.  She hails all the way from Belfast, Northern Ireland and blogs at Ickle Tomato Handmade.  She wants to make a modern framed sampler quilt with jewel tone colors.  To achieve this, she wanted each of us to make a monochrome miniature quilt block (6″ max size), frame it in a neutral solid, and place it off center in a coordinated solid to the print used in the mini block.

I tried to go with classic blocks that would read well with just one color.  For one block, I chose to make a little pinwheel.  It finishes at 4″ square.  The final block size is 14.5″ so you can definitely tell how miniature my little pinwheel is.

Stash Bee, modern frames, pinwheel

I also made a flying geese block.  Geese are hard to make super tiny so this block finishes at 6″ square (still pretty small).  I love the bit of silver metallic in the purple print of the geese.  It doesn’t show in the photograph very well, but it looks really neat in person.  The final block here is 18″.

Stash Bee, modern frames, flying geese

I tried to leave Ashleigh plenty of solid around the outside of my miniature blocks to that she can trim them down to whatever size works best with her layout and with the other blocks (she left finished size open to us).  Now these blocks can make a long trip across the pond to Northern Ireland!

Stash Bee, modern frames

October is my month to be Queen Bee so I won’t have any blocks to sew.  But I am so excited to see what I receive from my fellow Hive members!

9 thoughts on “Stash Bee 2014 – September Blocks

Leave a Reply

