Stash Bee 2014 – August Blocks

August, you say?  But it’s nearing the end of September.  I know, I know.  I was a little late in making my blocks for the August Queen Bee in my Stash Bee hive.  But I made her an extra so hopefully that helps to make up for my lateness!

Our queen for August was Melanie B.  She requested an X-Plus block in bright colors with a grey solid background.  I was really kind of excited when I saw that she’d chosen this block because I’ve pinned multiple pictures of X-Plus quilts that I love so I thought it would be fun to actually put together a few of the blocks for one.

Stash Bee, X-Plus

Melanie wanted us to pick print fabrics that were “colorful”, “wild”, “60s” and “bright”.  That is definitely not my normal color palette but I had fun digging through my stash to try to put together combinations that would fit that request.  I hope she likes what I came up with!

Stash Bee - August Block 2

Melanie said she was going to put together our blocks into a bed-sized quilt to give to her mom and stepfather.  They just got married last month (which is part of what threw off the timing of these blocks).

Stash Bee - August Blocks

My blocks went out in the mail this morning on their way to California!  I hope Melanie likes them and that they play nicely with her other bright X-Plus blocks!

2 thoughts on “Stash Bee 2014 – August Blocks

  1. I made these blocks for a bee last year and fell in love. They’re definitely on my to-do list for *me*! There are so many fun variations in colours and fabric placement 😀

Leave a Reply

