Introducing Round Trip Quilts!

Sorry for teasing you guys with my sneak peak earlier this week but now I can finally share with you the new long-term project I’m taking part in!

A small group of us from the 2014 New Quilt Blogger’s Blog Hop got together and decided to start a round robin style quilting bee. Many of us (myself included!) are new to this format so it’s exciting to be taking on a new challenge.

Round Trip Quilts, logo

We decided to call our group Round Trip Quilts. It works by creating a starting block(s) and sending it to then next person on the mailing list.  Each person adds a little bit to the quilt and eventually the quilt top will return to it’s original owner completely finished.  Hence, the round trip part!

I debated for a while on what I wanted to do for my quilt start.  We’d talked about giving each quilt a theme and I just didn’t really have a theme that was speaking to me.  So I started looking through my Pinterest and was drawn to my color schemes folder and was just really loving the bright colors in this inspiration picture.

Color inspiration, Round Trip Quilts
I pulled some fabric and was completely smitten so I decided to run with it and make my theme a color scheme!  So as long as people stick to the color scheme, they are free to let their imagination run wild when adding to my quilt!  I did buy some yardage of a background solid (Timeless Treasures in Sky) that I’ll be sending along as well just to give the various additions some cohesiveness.
Fabric Pull, Round Trip Quilts
I really like geometric shapes and I figured those would give a ton of options for others to coordinate with.  So I put together a quick improv block.
Round Trip Quilts, improv block
But then I was browsing Pinterest some more and I came across this improv chevrons block and I loved it.  So I made one of those too!  (This block took way longer than I thought it would to put together but I love the finished result.)
Round Trip Quilts, improv block
But then I felt like the improv chevrons block didn’t include very much of my background solid so I made a dozen cross stitch blocks that my group members can fit somewhere in my quilt top.
Round Trip Quilts, cross stitch blocks
So I don’t really have a starting block to send off to the group.  I have a handful of starting pieces.  But I love how they look together and I can’t wait to see what everyone else decides to add!
Round Trip Quilts, blocks
We also decided to send along notebooks with our blocks.  These would allow us to share more details about the original inspiration for each quilt as well as giving a place for us each to write about what we were thinking as we make the additions to each quilt.  I found this cute notebook at Target that seemed perfect for this project!
Round Trip Quilts, Journal

Round Trip Quilts now has a Flickr group and you can follow us on Instagram using #RoundTripQuilts!

The full list of members is below:
Heather at QA Creations
Leanne at Devoted Quilter
Kim at Ties That Bind Quilting
Liz at Green Cheese Quilting
Mary at See Mary Quilt
Christina at WIPs and Tuts
Jennifer at Never Just Jennifer
Chelsea Huckins at Patch the Giraffe

Check out what they’ve all put together!  These are going to be some awesome ladies to work with and I can’t wait!

11 thoughts on “Introducing Round Trip Quilts!

  1. Interesting colour palette! I love your block selections; can’t wait to see how they’re all added to! I’m hoping your Round Robin group does some fun borders I can copy for Possum magic for inspiration hehe

  2. Pingback: Round Trip Quilts, round 1 - QA Creations | QA Creations

Leave a Reply

