A Quilt for Me!

So far, every quilt that I have made has been a gift for someone else.  Don’t get me wrong, I love giving away these quilts and it makes me happy to see others enjoying them.  But I’d also love to have a piece of my hobby and hard work for myself.  So I decided it is time to make a quilt for me!

I was really drawn to Joel Dewberry’s Bungalow line and I bought a layer cake of it a while back but had never done anything with it.  There are a lot of big, bold prints in this line so I really didn’t want to cut it up too much as I didn’t want to lose the designs in small piecing.

I found this Easy Bricks Quilt pattern from Moda Bake Shop which really fit the bill and looked like it would go together quickly.  So I sliced the entire layer cake in half and got started.  I love how the stack of fabrics looked together!

Joel Dewberry, Bungalow, fabric

Then I proceeded to do lots of chain piecing and pressed open all of my seams (which honestly took a lot longer to do 84 times than I expected!)

Joel Dewberry, Bungalow, fabric, chain piecing

But I’ve already been able to get the entire quilt top laid out!  I’ve been making a few tweaks here and there since this late night photo to try to make sure the colors and patterns are balanced but I think it’s almost ready to start sewing up!

Joel Dewberry, Bungalow, fabric

Is there anyone else like me who has been negligent in actually making a quilt for themselves?

18 thoughts on “A Quilt for Me!

  1. Such a pretty fabric stack. Most of my planned “keeper” projects are still on the waiting list. But I have managed to keep a couple through the years. Congrats on your quilt!

  2. Your quilt, “For Me” is looking good. Yes, I have been quilting for six years and I haven’t made a quilt for myself. 😦 I can’t seem to get around to it.

  3. I am just the opposite, I just gave away my first quilt. I have always been too concerned they wouldn’t be good enough. The one I gave away made a couple of people cry, but in a good way. I love the colors of your quilt, it is looking amazing.

  4. Don’t we always do things for ourselves last… I’m so glad you took the time to sew this lovely quilt for yourself. I like the pattern too. Thank you for sharing!

  5. I had made a top for me, and then it sat…while many, many other projects were completed. Well, I finally got mine done, and I smile every time I see it on my bed. Don’t let it languish once you get the top done! 🙂 Enjoy YOUR quilt!

  6. Your quilt is looking lovely. I seem to spend most of my time sewing for others. I only just finished my first quilt for myself last weekend. I have a few more planned but they will have to wait as I’m back sewing for others again now.

  7. I’m afraid most of my quilts are for me. A combination of friends who don’t appreciate what I do and a hubby who hate seeing them leave the house. As I normally use them as presents I need a wedding/baby boom xx

  8. Just love this top! The fabric is wonderful! I have never made a quilt just for me. . . I have been giving them all away. . . maybe it is time 🙂

  9. I really like this pattern. The fabrics you’re using are great. It’s going to be so pretty when you get it done! And congratulations on making a “just for you” quilt!! 🙂

  10. In my first few years of quilting I gave nearly every quilt away as a gift. It’s only in more recent years I’ve made things for myself. I worked out the other day that of the 58 quilts I’ve made, I’ve given away 18. That 18 doesn’t include all the quilts I’ve made for my own children, that would be about another 10.

Leave a Reply

