Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spherical Stars

This is my second entry in to this year’s Blogger’s Quilt Festival.  (You can see my first entry here.)

Spring '14 Blogger's Quilt Festival - AmysCreativeSide.com

It took me longer to post this entry as I debated for a bit about what would be the best category for this quilt.  I’ve ultimately decided to submit my Spherical Stars quilt in the Small Quilts category.

DSC_1620

“Spherical Stars”
Quilt Stats:
Size: 51″ x 60″
Pattern: Magic Stars by Aneela Hoey
Type of Quilting: Straight Line on my home machine
Fabric Line(s) Used: Sphere by Zen Chic
Date Finished: March 2014

This quilt was made for Julie at the Intrepid Thread to be used as a sample/display in her brick and mortar shop in conjunction with the release of the new Sphere line of fabrics by Zen Chic.

DSC_1614

I loved the colors in this line!  And the combination of many low volume prints with the more saturated colors worked really well for the Magic Stars pattern.

DSC_1615

The blocks that make up this quilt were really fun to make.  They look like they should be really complicated and take a lot of piecing and seams but Aneela Hoey provides a great shortcut method in her pattern (that I never would have thought of) that makes putting these blocks together quick and easy!

DSC_1609

Thanks for stopping by and letting me share my Spherical Stars quilt!  I hope you enjoy the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and all the lovely creations everyone is entering!

10 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spherical Stars

Leave a Reply

