Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Born to Quilt Mini

It’s Blogger’s Quilt Festival time again!  Amy over at Amy’s Creative Side hosts this event twice a year, timed in conjunction with Quilt Market.  I was too new to quilting to have anything to enter last fall but I had a lot of fun going through each quilt category and checking out everyone’s beautiful work!

Spring '14 Blogger's Quilt Festival - AmysCreativeSide.com

This year, I wanted to enter my Born to Quilt mini that I made last month.  This quilt is actually over at Quilt Market in the Windham Fabrics both to help show off their new fabric line!

DSC_1684

“Born to Quilt” Mini
Quilt Stats:
Size: 18″ x 18″
Pattern: None.  This quilt was my own design.
Type of Quilting: Straight Line on my home machine with some decorative hand stitching
Fabric Line(s) Used: “Born to Quilt” by Another Point of View for Windham Fabrics
Date Finished: April 2014

Making this quilt really stretched me, especially as a new quilter.  I’ve really only worked with relatively bright colors so far so when a stack of primarily black and white fabrics appeared on my doorstep, all the plans I had in my head for this quilt had to be reworked.

Windham sent me this fun green print to use as my backing (not a part of the “Born to Quilt” fabric line).

DSC_1686

In addition to straight line quilting, I did some decorative hand embroidery in the center panel around the fussy cut phrases.  Here a detail shot of the hand stitched embroidery.  I matched the DMC Perle cotton to the text of each phrase.  I think it gives a nice extra touch of color and was something I’d never tried before.  It is probably my favorite part of this mini!

DSC_1685

I had so much fun making this quilt and I really enjoyed getting to try some new techniques (fussy cutting, hand embroidery) that I hadn’t done previously!  Oh, and if anyone at Quilt Market this weekend happens to see it hanging in the Windham Fabrics booth, I would love it if you snapped a picture and sent it my way!

DSC_1683

Thanks for stopping by and letting me share my mini quilt!  I hope you enjoy the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and all the lovely creations everyone is entering!

15 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Born to Quilt Mini

  1. I love fabrics with wording especially quilt related, I am not usually drawn to black and white either but recently there are so many good ones out. Your mini is perfect for trying something new.

  2. Hi Kim. Your quilt looks great, and good on you being organised and having your entry ready already. I’m really looking forward to the Bloggers’ quilt festival. I think we’re going to see some great quilts. I imagine there will be a lot of variety in the mini quilt section and yours will stand out because ti’s black and white..

  3. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spherical Stars | Ties That Bind Quilting

  4. Your quilt is delightful. Just full of fun. Did you ever get a photo of the booth. I too made a mini and would so live to see what it looked like. My fabric was very different than yours. Joanne

Leave a Reply

