Jelly Roll Jam Quilt

Man – It has been a crazy last week and I feel like I’ve hardly spent any time on my sewing machine!  Between my tennis team and my husband’s tennis team both playing in playoffs last weekend, to losing my grandma early this week and going out of town for my sister-in-law’s PA school graduation this weekend, time has just flown by!

I did manage to put a little bit of time in getting started on a new baby quilt though!  I mentioned back when I started on the Baby’s First ABCs quilt that I had bought a jelly roll of Riley Blake’s Boy Crazy line but didn’t have time to put that quilt together in time for her baby shower.  Well that same friend is due this month so I wanted to turn that jelly roll into a Jelly Roll Jam Quilt using the Fat Quarter Shop’s free pattern!

Jelly Roll - Boy Crazy

Don’t jelly rolls look so fun all rolled up?  🙂

I chose a couple of prints from the Boy Crazy line to feature as the backing and the binding.  The backing is the Boy Crazy Main print in teal and the binding is the Boy Crazy Circles in teal.

DSC_1708

I was able to divide the 2.5″ strips into three groups and get each group sewn together.  I tried to evenly balance the colors from each group and I was able to use every print in the line except for the coordinating solids.

DSC_1710

Hopefully I can spend some more time at my sewing machine this week so I can have this quilt ready to go as a welcome home present for her new little boy (whenever he decides to make his appearance!)!

13 thoughts on “Jelly Roll Jam Quilt

  1. I love this pattern! And these are such fun prints! I like jelly rolls too but I seem to like them more rolled up in their nice little packaging than unrolling and using them (they look so pretty rolled up!).

  2. Sorry to hear you lost your gramma, Kim. Hope you did enjoy all the family time you had this week. Love your choices for the backing and binding. Looking forward to see your progress on this cute baby quilt!

  3. The jelly rolls are really cute, I think so too. I especially like the teals and the warm colors in combo and you have hit it here in spades. My sympathy in the loss of your grandmother. My heart touches yours in solidarity. I have lost both parents since the first of the year.

  4. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your grandmother, we just lost my husband’s grandfather a month or so ago. I will be thinking of you and your family. On the fun side, the Boy Crazy Main Print (Robots!!) is super cute.

  5. What a cute line of fabrics! Very sorry to hear of the loss of your grandmother but hopefully stitching will bring you some peace in the days ahead.

Leave a Reply

