Born to Quilt – Finished Mini

I finished my Born to Quilt mini quilt for Windham Fabrics this weekend.  I loved getting to play with their new fabric line, “Born to Quilt”, and I was also stretched outside my comfort zone with both a new color palette and some new techniques!

But you guys haven’t even seen the finished top yet!  Last time I shared this project, I only had the center section with the fussy cut quilting phrases.

DSC_1679

I had a lot of fun making the corners and probably over stressed what square blocks to use in them.  I really wanted something that could include a fussy cut sewing machine from one of the other prints in the line.  At the suggestion of some of my readers, I decided to go more modern instead of the traditional route I’d been thinking and I really like how they turned out!

DSC_1680  DSC_1681

After finishing the top, I felt like there was too much white space down the middle of the quilt.  So I decided to use some embroidery floss to add a bit of color and decorative stitching by hand around each fussy cut saying.  Then I got everything basted together and ready to quilt!

DSC_1682

And soon I had my first finished mini quilt!

DSC_1684

“Born to Quilt” Mini
Quilt Stats:
Size: 18″ x 18″
Pattern: None.  This quilt was my own design.
Type of Quilting: Straight Line on my home machine with some decorative hand stitching
Fabric Line(s) Used: “Born to Quilt” by Another Point of View for Windham Fabrics
Date Finished: April 2014

I primarily did stitch in the ditch quilting with a little bit of straight line quilting in the string pieced triangles.  And the bright green backing fabric they provided is a fun pop of color compared to the primarily black and white front.

DSC_1683  DSC_1686

I love how the binding looks too!  The black and white stripe is a perfect binding print!  And I finished attaching the binding to the quilt back by hand too – a first for me!

DSC_1687

Here a detail shot of the hand stitched embroidery.  I matched the DMC Perle cotton to the text of each phrase.  I think it gives a nice extra touch of color and was something I’d never tried before.  I’ll be honest, I found sitting on my couch and hand stitching made for a very relaxing evening.  I’ll have to do it more often!

DSC_1685

For such a sewing themed quilt, I had to take a picture of it with my sewing machine.  Although it isn’t what I made, I think this fabric line would be great for use in a sewing machine cover.  So fun!

DSC_1690  DSC_1691

I’m so excited that my mini quilt will be displayed in Windham Fabrics’ booth at Quilt Market this spring!  If anyone is attending Quilt Market, I’d love it if you could take a picture of the booth (and my quilt) for me!

16 thoughts on “Born to Quilt – Finished Mini

  1. Pingback: Stash Bee 2014 – April Blocks | Ties That Bind Quilting

  2. Congratulations Kim! Sure wish I could go to Quilt Market and get a picture of your quilt for you! Love the backing you chose. And that hand embroidery detail was a good call. Very sweet finish!

  3. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Born to Quilt Mini | Ties That Bind Quilting

Leave a Reply

