Delightful Stars Quilt-Along

I have one more quilt-along I decided to do this year.  I’m joining in on the Delightful Stars Quilt-Along hosted by Michele Foster who blogs over at the Quilting Gallery.

Delightful Stars Quilt-Along

The quilt is a combination of traditionally pieced and paper pieced star blocks.  I haven’t made any star blocks before nor have I done paper piecing so I thought this quilt would be a good way to expose me to some new things.  There is a new block posted every Tuesday (with a few breaks thrown in so people can catch up if they fall behind).

delightful-stars-white

I chose to do this quilt using only Kona solids but in a variety of colors so there isn’t really a distinct color scheme I’m going for.

DSC_1573I’ve decided that I’m using the following Kona solids in this project:

Ash (for the background), Chartreuse, Tangerine, Oasis, Bluegrass, Crocus Purple, Corn Yellow, Royal, Candy Blue, and Berry

I may add a couple more shades if I feel it is needed as I go along but as you can see, it is definitely a rainbow sort of look.

So far there have been 4 blocks posted and I finished them all up during my snow days last week.  I’m really happy with how they are looking so far!

DSC_1574  DSC_1575

DSC_1576  DSC_1577

One thing I’ve really liked is that Michele posts instructions on how to cut your fabric for making the HSTs and/or flying geese using both traditional methods or using the Easy Start and Geese Ruler.  I bought this ruler at her suggestion and it has been so nice to use!  It minimizes fabric waste, allows you to cut your pieces from strips, and even makes the notched points where needed to make piecing easier and more accurate.  This will definitely be a great tool to have in the future!

Someone else in the quilt-along suggested creating a composite on the coloring sheets as we finish blocks in order to keep track of of how things are looking and the balance of colors around the quilt.

Composite of My Blocks

Everything seems to be going together well so far!

15 thoughts on “Delightful Stars Quilt-Along

  1. Your blocks look GREAT!! I just did an entire quilt of the block on the top left – like one huge block (68″ x 68″). I think the one on the bottom left would look really awesome too!! HMMMM…. Thanks for sharing and providing inspiration!! 🙂

  2. I think it’s going to look great in all solids. The single background is going to really tie it all together! Good luck with the paper piecing. That’s on my list of things to try this year too!

  3. These are gorgeous! I love the bright fabrics you picked out. The solids will be really spectacular in these star patterns.

Leave a Reply

