Star Light Star Bright Quilt-A-Long

I’ve really enjoyed following Melissa at her blog, Happy Quilting Melissa, since I starting my own quilting journey.  She has tons of great tutorials (including the Refracted tutorial I am using for my sister’s quilt) and makes such lovely quilts.

I was so excited when she started discussing a new quilt-along but I also knew I didn’t have enough time to add another quilt to my plate right now.  But the Star Light Star Bright quilt-along looked so fun and I was looking forward to at least following along with everyone.

Lucky for me, Melissa put together yardage and cutting instructions not only for numerous quilt sizes but also for pillows made out of a single large block!  I can find time to join the fun if I only have to make one block.  So here we go!

I choose these fabrics for my pillow.  I’ve been loving teal/aqua lately and wanted to take the opportunity to use a little bit in a project.DSC_1534

Our first “assignment” from Melissa was to get everything cut out.  It was kind of nice that it didn’t take me all that long to cut since I’m just making a single 16″ block.

DSC_1555

And our assignment for this week was to make the flying geese blocks.  I’ve actually never made a flying geese block before so it was a great chance to learn the no waste method for making them that Melissa presented.

Here’s my (small) completed flock of geese!

DSC_1558

 

I’m having fun with this quilt-along and it is sort of nice to have a project that is a little smaller of a commitment.  Plus – I get to make my first pillow cover!

4 thoughts on “Star Light Star Bright Quilt-A-Long

  1. I am so glad you are joining in. And yipee for your first pillow cover. That is what it is all about!!! I love your fabrics and your geese look awesome!!! Oh, and I can’t wait to see your refracted all done. Be sure and send me an email 😉

Leave a Reply

