Snow Day = Quilting Day

So today in Atlanta is a Snowpocalypse! The entire city has completely shut down! Granted, I was born and raised in the North so the ~2 inches of snow that we got is absolutely no big deal to me.

IMG_0045                          IMG_0047

But since Atlanta (and really, most of the South) freaks out about snow, the university where my lab is located has closed campus and my boss has told me not to come into work.  The entire state has been declared under a state of emergency.  Guess that means I’ve got a sewing day!

I’ve been working on all the piecing for my cross/plus quilt for my brother so hopefully I can make a good dent into that today.

IMG_0044

My dog Khloe has really been enjoying playing in the snow so I’m sure I’ll be out there with her for a bit too!

IMG_0040                           IMG_0034

Anyone else in the South getting a snow day today?

13 thoughts on “Snow Day = Quilting Day

  1. I have an online friend in Georgia who has been emailing me about the rare snow you are getting.
    Meanwhile, here in Kansas we’ve had very little snow. Blue skies and sun shining today.
    I will not complain 🙂

  2. I have a snow day today as well! Although we’re used to the snow here, so no one is really batting an eye about it. I think your plus blocks are looking awesome! Hope you have a good day of sewing and stay safe!

  3. Looks like a lovely snow day. That’s the kind I could handle… two inches and the city shuts down. I live in the sunny southwest now but I’m a great lakes girl, and two inches is nothing. You blocks look great. 🙂
    BB

  4. No snow day for me! I am in Colorado and we had our first snow day in 23 years at the beginning of December. It was awesome, I quilted a bunch, made dinner in my crockpot, and did not get out of my pajamas. I can’t wait for another snow day,

  5. I’m SO jealous!! The Memphis area hasn’t gotten a single solitary snowflake this year. boo! Glad to see you put your day to good use though- love the plus quilt!

    Thanks for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  6. We have had plenty of snow up here in the north. Glad to see you and Khloe enjoying it! You be sewing when it’s snowing! Love your plus quilt – the colours are gorgeous and just the right amount of balance. Looking good!

  7. How lucky for you to have a snow day! Where I am from–schools don’t close unless we get like 2 feet of snow! lol Love your quilt you are working on!

    Would love for you to stop by and link this up at Fabric Frenzy Friday Link Party – tomorrow!

    -Lindsey

    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Leave a Reply

