Sunshine – My First Finish!

It’s official – I’ve finished my first quilt!  I chose my fabrics, cut and pieced everything for the top, basted, quilted and bound everything together.  I even made my own custom label!  I’m so excited to show it off!

DSC_1466

“Sunshine”
Quilt Stats:
Size: Approximately 40″ x 50″
Pattern: Derailed Quilt Pattern by FrivolousNecessity
Type of Quilting: Straight Line on my home machine
Date Finished: December 2013

DSC_1468

I’m so happy with how it turned out!  My binding is really even and I think my mitered corners look really good for my first time.

DSC_1469    DSC_1473

And I love how the quilt label turned out!  I appliqued it onto my backing before I basted and quilted.  I’ll definitely be doing this for all of my quilts!

DSC_1470    DSC_1471

I did straight line quilting on my home machine.  It isn’t perfectly straight but I think the lines look pretty good.  I did have one really crooked row that I ripped out and redid though (thank goodness for my seam ripper!).

DSC_1474

I even recruited my husband to help me get some full length photos of the front and back of the finished quilt.  Thanks honey!

DSC_1476     DSC_1477

Since it is almost Christmas (and this quilt is a Christmas gift for my cousin’s new baby), I though it was only fitting to get some photos with a Christmas tree too!  This gorgeous (and giant!) tree is at our local shopping center.

DSC_1478     DSC_1479

Look how giant those bows are! 🙂

DSC_1480

I can’t wait for my cousin to open this on Christmas!  It is all wrapped up and ready to take home for the holidays!

23 thoughts on “Sunshine – My First Finish!

  1. Wow what an accomplishment, your first quilt is done! Congratulations! It is a very sweet little quilt, I hope your cousin adores it, she’s getting a very special gift 🙂

  2. What a very sweet first finish! Congratulations on sew many levels! You did an awesome job of the quilting, binding and that lovely label. Your cousin is sure to be blown away! Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Quilty New Year!

  3. Congratulations your quilt is gorgeous, would never have quessed this was your first. When I think back to my first quilt it was no where near as good as this. Hope you enjoy your journey into quilting.p, look forward to following your progress.

  4. That is a lovely quilt and certainly doesn’t look like a first attempt. How wonderful too that you followed through and completed it. I wonder how many quilt tops are sitting in a closet never to be quilted? Keep going!!

  5. Pingback: Star Light Star Bright – HSTs | Ties That Bind Quilting

Leave a Reply

