Two Quilt Tops

Sorry I haven’t posted much lately.  Life has been really busy and I haven’t had much time to spare to sit at my sewing machine and work on my projects.  I feel like I’ve been “go, go, go” between out-of-town weddings (we’re going to another one this weekend too!), work, tennis, and starting to think about Christmas shopping.

But I have put in enough time to have some progress to share on two of my projects.  First off – I have 100% completed my first quilt top!  Last night, I sewed the last seam on the baby quilt top made of 180 HSTs for my cousin’s baby.

DSC_1455

Now I’m ready to try my hand at basting, quilting and binding!

DSC_1456

I’ve also finished the main, center section of the Modern Trees Quilt Along over at Christa Quilts.  I still have borders to add before quilting this project (including my applique string of lights that I haven’t gotten a chance to start yet) but I’m at least starting to see how it is all going to go together and I love how it is looking so far.

DSC_1453

I’m glad that the prints that I chose really do look basically like solids when viewed from a distance.

DSC_1454

I’ve also decided that my back deck works really well for quilt pictures.  I wish the trees had better fall colors though!

Now I need to get a walking foot for my machine so I can start my straight line quilting on the HSTs baby quilt!  Wish me luck!

20 thoughts on “Two Quilt Tops

  1. Your work is gorgeous, I have a special fondness for HSTs, one day I will try them! Perfect photo taking location, looks great and you know the deck won’t complain while you wait for the perfect light 😉

  2. Unless you had said so yourself, I would NEVER have guessed that these were your first quilt tops — they are beautiful! Enjoy your first time quilting! 🙂

  3. How lovely! Both tops look amazing. I can’t believe that HST quilt was your first. I hated HSTs for the longest time and referred to them as my quilting nemesis. 🙂 But now I love them. Hooray for finishes, and thanks for linking up!

  4. Wow, what a fantastic job for your first quilt!! And your second quilt, the tree along looks very well put together! What has been your favorite part of quilting thus far?

  5. Pingback: Fabric Giveaway! | Ties That Bind Quilting

Leave a Reply

