Making More Progress

I had a pretty good chance to sew this weekend (no long periods of time but lots of an hour here, 90 minutes there) as well as a bit of time yesterday evening and I was able to make a lot of progress on my projects!

I’ve finished sewing together all of the HSTs that form the 15 rows of my quilt.  I also have all of the seams pressed (alternating directions with each row) so all I have left to do is sew the rows together and I’ll have completed my first quilt top!

DSC_1447

I also cut all of my charm squares for the Kate Spade Charm Swap I joined.  I turned this pretty stack of fabrics:

DSC_1446

Into these stacks of 56 charm squares each!  That’s a total of 224 charm squares!

DSC_1449

I’m so excited to get them sent off for the swap and see all of the pretty fabrics I get back.  It actually didn’t take nearly as long as I expected to cut all of the charm squares out thanks to the helpful tutorial on cutting charm squares from yardage that Elizabeth Hartman put together over at Oh, Frannson!.

I should have some time tonight to put some work into my Modern Trees quilt-along project.  I’ve been busy with other things and have fallen a little behind so hopefully a can catch up a bit!

Hope everyone is having a great week!

6 thoughts on “Making More Progress

  1. Wow–a huge congratulations on finishing up your first quilt top. That is such a great achievement and I hope you are really proud of yourself! And welcome to the world of quilting! I’ve been a quilter for about 35 years, and have made lots of quilts, but I still remember my first quilt (and PS, yours looks WAY better than my first quilt!).

    Anyway–just wanted to give you a pat on the back!

  2. Your finished quilt top is gorgeous. Well done, and if I read correctly in the comment above…your first? Great job! Anyone would love to have the groups of fabrics you’ve cut for the Charm Swap…aren’t they so much fun?

    I am visiting from Thursday Threads and would love to have you stop by and see my 1930’s Fabrics and Quilts. Just click on the signature link below…hope to see you there.  Your comments are ‘Sew’ Welcomed!
    Sue CollectInTexas Gal

Leave a Reply

