Sewing the Top for the Baby Quilt

I can tell that I’m already getting hooked on this sewing thing.  I’ve had a busy last couple of weeks and didn’t really get a chance to get behind the sewing machine much and I sort of missed it!  I’ve realized that I find sewing to be relaxing and am enjoying adding it to my schedule and making it a new hobby.

I did get a chance this weekend to transfer my focus back to the baby quilt I’m making.  I finished all 180 of my HSTs for it a few weeks back but then set them aside and have been working on other things.

DSC_1405

Well I finally laid out all of those stacks of HSTs into the layout for my quilt top and have started working on sewing the rows together.  It was quite a process trying to evenly distribute the colors across the entire quilt and I had to move things around a few times before I was happy with it.  Thankfully I can leave it on the floor of our spare bedroom and just close the door to keep the dog from disturbing all the squares!

DSC_1441

It is kind of amazing to me how much all of those quarter inch seam allowances add up when you multiply them across the entire width of the quilt top.  Check out how much the rows shrink when sewn together!

DSC_1443

I’m really excited about how it is turning out so far!  What surprised you the most when you were working on your first quilt?

15 thoughts on “Sewing the Top for the Baby Quilt

  1. fun layout!! you are doing a great job. I think the thing that surprised me the most about sewing was how relaxing it is and the great feeling of accomplishment to make something that is both pretty and functional 🙂

  2. Your quilt is looking great! It is amazing how much you lose in seam allowances! It is also surprising how much your quilt shrinks up just from the quilting.

  3. this is such a cool pattern. i love hst’s! you did a good job with distributing the colors. that’s always time consuming for me because although i like random, i am picky, too. =) and, yes, those seam allowances really eat up a quilt’s size. it always amazes me how much it shrinks once sewn together. welcome to the sewing world!

  4. this is such a great layout of your HST’s. The movement is so much fun! I know what you mean about your quilt shrinking while you sew. I just love small blocks but I always remember- the smaller the blocks, the more you lose to seam allowance.

    I’m so happy you shared at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. What a sweet baby quilt! Love the design and colors. Those HST surely did shrink the size of your quilt! Looks about 2 squares width were lost to seams. Regardless it is an awesome quilt.

Leave a Reply

