A Quilt for My Sister

Just to keep me on my toes, I’m working on a second quilt alongside the quilt for my cousin’s new baby.  This second quilt is for my sister for a birthday present.  I got her input on colors (she requested blues and purples) and then I chose a pattern and picked specific fabrics.

For this quilt, I’m following the Refracted Quilt tutorial by Melissa at Happy Quilting.  The PDF version of the pattern is also available in her shop.

I loved how it showed off so many different fabrics (the picnic size uses 25 fat quarters)!

I took advantage of some great Labor Day sales at Jo Ann Fabric at bought a bunch of their blue and purple fat quarters at about 50% off.  I also bought a couple of coordinating fabrics off the bolt so I’d have a few things that incorporated multiple colors (all of Jo Ann’s fat quarters – at least that I saw – were basically single colors).  Here’s what I ended up with:

DSC_1408

As you can see, I’d already separated them into five groups of 5.  You can see the individual fabric prints better here:

DSC_1414    DSC_1412

I’m planning to go through each set of 5 one at a time instead of cutting everything up at once.  It seemed like it would be easier to me.  So I took my first set of 5 and cut each fabric into an 18″ square.  I then stacked the 5 squares on top of each other and cut out my 5 various segments.

DSC_1416

Then it simply started mixing the segments up into 5 individuals squares until I was happy with the color combinations and the look of the various pieces.  Here are a couple of my layouts from the first set of fabrics:

DSC_1418      DSC_1420

I have just a single square sewn together at this point so I’ve got a ways to go with this project.  It is nice to be working with such bright, bold colors though after spending the last couple of weeks working with the softer, pale colors in the baby quilt.  What’s you favorite quilt you’ve made for a friend or family member?

3 thoughts on “A Quilt for My Sister

  1. This looks like a fun project. It has the look of a crazy quilt, but without all the embellishment. Really lovely. I don’t know that I can pick a favorite, but a fun project was a pair of Debbie Mumm geese quilts made many years ago for twins. One had red backgrounds with blue sashing and the other was the opposite.
    BB

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – 10 Down, 15 to Go! | Ties That Bind Quilting

  3. Pingback: WIP – My Sister’s Quilt | Ties That Bind Quilting

Leave a Reply

