Work in Progress (WIP) Wednesday – HSTs Done!

I’ve made some really great progress on all of the HSTs that I need for my baby quilt.  I’m not sure if the method for making HSTs that was a part of my pattern is the normal method or if it’s a handy shortcut but either way, I really like it!

I started out by cutting out all of my 4.25″ squares (10 from each of my 9 colored fabrics and 90 from my white fabric).  I am now 100% sold on the use of a rotary cutter!  It makes doing all of this cutting so much easier!

DSC_1390

Then, I paired a white square with a colored square (right sides facing each other).  Using a pencil, I drew a line from corner to corner on the wrong side of the white square.  After pinning, I sewed the squares together, making a seam 1/4″ on either side of the pencil line.  I used my rotary cutter to cut along my pencil line, making two triangles.  When these triangles are pressed open and trimmed down to 3.75″, I have two HSTs!

Here you can see the progression of all of the steps:

DSC_1393

And here you can see where the stitches are a little better (since you can’t really see my white thread on the white squares in the above picture.

DSC_1396 DSC_1397 DSC_1398

DSC_1399 DSC_1400 DSC_1403

It feels really good to have all 180 of my HSTs done and to be ready to start putting the quilt top together!

DSC_1405

My biggest question that has arisen from my progress so far is this: How often do you replace the blade on your rotary cutter?  I’ve decided it is my favorite tool but I don’t know how long the blades last.

One thought on “Work in Progress (WIP) Wednesday – HSTs Done!

  1. When the blade starts skipping in sections, you need to change it. You will find you start pressing harder down on it to make it cut, and that is ok, just watch when you do finally replace it that you will still be pressing hard and back off a bit (kind of like razors, lol!) Watch for sales, and stock up on a few if you can. If you ever run over a pin, I have read you can put two blades in your cutter to lengthen the use. Haven’t tried it myself.

Leave a Reply

