Tools of the Trade

Before I get to any sewing, I wanted to share the tools that I’ve accumulated to help me as I work.

The most important has got to be the sewing machine that my mom bought me, a Janome Sewist 500.  She told me that she wanted to start me off with a nice enough machine that I wouldn’t feel like I needed to upgrade it and she wanted it to be high enough quality that it would last me a long time.  So far, I’ve found it really easy to use.  Thanks mom!

Janome Sewist 500

Janome Sewist 500

She also got me a sewing basket filled with all sorts of different tools and notions!  I’ve got nice fabric scissors, a pin cushion and lots of pins, replacement needles for my machine (as well as needles for hand sewing), extra bobbins, a fabric pencil, a small metal ruler and a flexible ruler – what more could a girl need?!?

DSC_1386       DSC_1388        DSC_1389

I also got myself a mat and rotary cutter as I didn’t want to have to cut all my pieces for the quilts out by hand.  Reading reviews online made me decide to go with Olfa.  It seemed to be most people’s favorite.

DSC_1385

Lastly, I got myself a few rulers from Jo-Ann Fabric so that I can more easily get straight edges and make all of my pieces the proper size.

Ruler 2     Ruler 1

So hopefully with all these tools, I’ll be ready to tackle my first quilt.  That said, I’m sure as I continue on my quilting journey, I’ll come across more things that make my life easier (or are simply just fun things to have)!  What tool do you find most useful in your quilting?

One thought on “Tools of the Trade

  1. Kim, I found your blog on Crazy Mom Quilts! I love your niece’s quilt! Some of my favourite tools?
    Splurge on glass headed pins (with the smaller heads than the yellow plastic head pins). They do not shift your seams as much when you are stitching up to them.
    Best Press…best product ever!
    Over time, you may want to add a few rulers to your tool kit. A 6.5″ square comes in really handy, as does a 6″ x 12″ ruler, which is easier to handle when trimming smaller cuts of fabrics/blocks. I look forward to reading through the rest of your posts! Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

