About Me

MeWelcome to my blog!  My name is Kim and I’m a wife who lives in the suburbs of Atlanta, GA with my husband and dog.  I work in a research lab full-time but am just getting into quilting and wanted to share my journey!  When I’m not quilting, I also love to play tennis, read, and SCUBA dive!

Our dog Khloe (who didn't want to look at the camera)

Our dog Khloe (who didn’t want to look at the camera)

I’m originally from Indiana but came down south to go to school at Georgia Tech and earn a Biomedical Engineering degree.  I met my husband at Tech as well and we are both big GT fans who enjoy tailgating with friends and making use of our football season tickets each fall.  I moved around a bit after graduating, spending about a year in Los Angeles and 2 years in Dallas, but finally made the move back to the Atlanta area in 2012.  My husband is from here originally and his parents are still local.

Scuba Diving with my husband and parents

Scuba Diving with my husband and parents

My mom got me a sewing machine for Christmas this past year (I’d been asking for one) and I’ve been learning how to use it through making a padded TV cover for our tailgate TV as well as working with my mom to make curtains for a few of the rooms in my house.  Now that I know a bit about what I’m doing with my machine, I’ve decided that I want to learn how to quilt.  I’m starting this blog to document my adventures and tribulations as I teach myself how to quilt and (hopefully!) grow as a quilter.  I’m starting off that with a quilt that will ultimately be a present in our family Christmas gift exchange which should give me plenty of time to making my way through my first project.  I thought blogging would be a fun way to share my progress and results.

Me and my husband

Me and my husband

I’d love to hear from other quilters!  Whether my quilts inspire your next project or you have words of advice for me as I get started (because I know I have a lot to learn!) or even if you are simply following my adventures in quilting, please leave me a comment and let me know!

I hope you enjoy my journey!

Much love, Kim

Leave a Reply

